Making money with AdSense

Several years ago, my YouTube channel received enough views to become eligible for monetization via Google AdSense. I opted-in and allowed Google to place ads on my videos. This was in late 2009. I didn’t think much of it at first, because the first two years I was only making a few dollars a month. This year, however, my earnings have really taken off. In fact, I’ve made $375 over the last 365 days! That’s over dollar a day for just having ads on my videos. I try to post new videos periodically and link them to each other to increase their views and total ad impressions. Here’s a graph of my account’s lifetime performance over the past three years:

This graph shows a monthly breakdown of data. The blue line shows monetize-able views on my videos, and the green line shows estimated earnings. Total clicks, average click-through-rate, average cost-per-click, and average revenue-per-thousand are also shown. This information has been helpful when working on school projects to get a good idea of how online ads perform. It’s been exciting to watch the growth and, of course, to make money at the same time. I hope to take this interest of mine and apply it to any projects, internships, or jobs that I have in the future.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment