The Sonic guys are back!

d7db257121712279f51ef0bd45566c82

Sonic commercials have always been some of my favorite commercials. I was happy to see they began using the two guys sitting in their car again this year. This article talks about how Sonic went about rehiring them. Apparently the guys made a series of their own Sonic commercials on YouTube after they were phased out of Sonic’s actual advertising campaign. They made a Facebook page and a video asking for their jobs back. It turns out that Sonic was behind theseefforts all along and just wanted to bring these guys back into their commercials in a clever way. It was definitely a smart and inexpensive approach versus spending large sums on traditional campaigns.

Even though this event was fake, I think it’s a great example of how the internet can be used to market things other than company brands. Social media and other online platforms can be used to build personal brands and promote people as well. I think using these tools alongside traditional resumes and cover letters could create an advantage for anyone seeking a job in a somewhat creative field.

Speaking of making independent own Sonic ads, I actually made a video in high school for my school’s broadcast station about Sonic. I took the poem “Twas the Night Before Christmas” and incorporated Sonic into the story. It’s not exactly an advertisement, but I think the general idea could be used in an actual Sonic ad.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment