OfficeMax Survey

office-max-logo

I went to Office Max tonight because I needed copy paper and a three-ring binder for a sales presentation I have tomorrow. The cashier at the checkout counter told me that I could get $5 off my next purchase if I took a survey when I got home. I hardly ever take surveys, but after conducting several this semester for my advertising courses I decided it might be worthwhile.

Using my receipt, I went to the specified URL and entered in my survey code. I took the survey, received a $5-off coupon via email, and I’m printing it off as I’m typing this sentence. In fact, I just used the first piece of paper from the ream I bought. How about that.

While taking the survey I tried to imagine what insights OfficeMax was trying to uncover. Aside from the standard questions about customer service, questions about why I chose OfficeMax and what other stores I had recently purchased office supplies at were more interesting to me. It seems they want to know the reasons consumers choose OfficeMax over a typical grocery store, or other office supplier. Price, quality, carrying good brands, convenient store location, and having a wide selection were some of the options. I personally consider OfficeMax a leading office supplier brand. I wonder if they are simply conducting a maintenance survey or wanting to make bigger changes to the company?

As an advertising student I like to go through different consumer processes myself because I think it gives tangible meaning to the things I have studied. Experiencing these processes like survey-taking, in-store sampling, and others allow me to understand how things work in real life. Understanding the consumer is vital in planning a campaign because knowing how the consumer thinks, feels, and acts allows you to present your brand in a way that resonates with that consumer.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment